Unlimited Hosting?

Posted by – February 18, 2010

Unlimited web hosting divided by 100!?

Recently an add was found on the internet for Unlimited Web Hosting for $3.95 per year. With such a deal it is a must to check it out on live chat.

Name: Potential Customer (PC)
Web Site: BlahHost
Department: Sales
Question: Unlimited web hosting account?

Snake [10:15:05] Welcome to our real-time support chat. How can I help you today?

PC [10:15:41] I am interested in an Unlimited Hosting Account?  Is it really unlimited?

Snake [10:16:14] Yes! We really offer unlimited web hosting service.

PC [10:16:03] Gosh! Unlimited is an awful lot.  I really don’t think I need that much. How about if I just use 1/100 of an unlimited account?  Can I do that?

Snake [10:16:14]  Yes. You are welcome to use as much or as little of your account as you like.

PC [10:16:47] OK! That sounds great.  But if I only use 1/100 of an unlimited account, I feel it is only fair that I pay for 1/100 of the cost of the account. Right?

PC [10:24:01] Hello?  Are you still there?

Snake [10:24:13]  Yes I am here. That would be only 4 cents per year!? <cut off>

PC [10:24:14] Right but I am willing to make up for it by paying for a long term contract.

Snake [10:24:26] Oh! <cut off>

PC [10:24:27] I’ll pay you for 100 years of hosting.  At 4 cents per year times 100 it would come out to 4 dollars.  OK!  :)

Snake [10:26:03] We can’t do that.

PC [10:31:21] Hello?  Are you there?

PC [10:38:17] Hello?  Is anybody home?

PC [10:46:17] Did you leave me?

Snake [10:58:09] Thank you for trying BlahHost.com Live Chat.

Just remember our World Class Support is just a click and a yack away!

Unlimited web hosting is no joke. Don’t fall for the foolishness of any company trying to sell unlimited web hosting.

Dear Spammer!

Posted by – January 27, 2010

Dear spammer on the other side of the Earth,

I know I am wasting my time by writing this post as there little to no chance you will ever read it.  But none the less I felt compelled to let you know how I feel.  It is highly unlikely I will open any spam email in the first place.  But since you choose to send me spam written in Chinese, (And I am going out on a limb, guessing what foreign language you are using!?)  I guarantee you I won’t even give it a second look before I hit the delete button sending your spam message to email purgatory.  So, spammer,  please attempt to learning English before sending me another spam.   And out of common courtesy if you are too lazy to learn English at least give Babel Fish a go to translate it into something that is intelligible for your spamming market.  Thanks for being so understanding!

Sincerely,

CrazyPenguin

Chinese spam

Bluehost Unreliable!

Posted by – March 6, 2008

Bluehost my favorite dysfunctional web hosting company strikes again. Abssorb and Tvuolo were patiently biting nails, waiting for 28 hours, while the technical staff fiddled with box329 attempting to make their server operational. After 28 frustrating hours box329 was briefly up just to tease the clients with the fact that they will have harmful amounts of data loss before the server went down again.

In the same post Abssorb quotes one of Matt Heaton’s blogs Reliability, reliability, relibility…

3 – Proactive administration vs reactive administration – Sometimes we find ourselves in the reactive mode. Fix it when their is a problem. This isn’t right. We have set concrete plans in place that will make it so that each time a server goes down we have the information to know exactly what caused it and how to fix it so next time the same thing doesn’t happen. Many large hosts get caught up in the “reset the server” mode, and don’t really fix the problem for the long term. We will strive to fix it for the long term.

Abssorb follows with the comment, “Looks like that ‘Concrete’ had some crap in it, cos it hasn’t set.”

Folks we have all heard the “How many engineers does it take to change a light bulb joke?” Well how many Sys Admins does it take to fix box329 at Bluehost? Perhaps Bluehost should consider farming out this type of work to one of their competitors whom are a bit more competent than their in house “Technical Department”.

I am beginning to think a Linux virus does exist and it is called a Bluehost system administrator.

Hey Matt Heaton, Bluehost is “unreliable, unreliable, unreliable…

Bluehost Cult!?

Posted by – February 14, 2008

Beware of the unconscionable church of the Bluehost cult! Bluehost has many aspects which share common characteristics with a wayward holy roller church or a hyped-up Amway sales meeting instead of a reliable and stable web hosting company. Matt Heaton, Prophet of the Bluehost cult, is completely obsessed with the number of converts he obtains rather than providing quality service for his existing loyal members. Heaton throughout his blog repeatedly talks about the number of sign ups per day or total number of domains gained. It is all “Quantity, Quantity, Quantity” and quality is always second place at Bluehost. Hallelujah, brethren it is time for a membership drive.

Come one, come all to to the Bluehost cult. Let us send out an army of evangelists to gain neophytes. Our evangelists all have websites due to already belonging to the brotherhood of the Bluehost cult. The evangelists will place banner ads on their sites to draw in disciples. At Bluehost the evangelists are also referred to as affiliates. For every new convert the Bluehost cult will reward each affiliate with a one time payment of $65 for their proselytizing. Welcome all new cult members. Please come and join us at the Bluehost forum.

The Bluehost forum is similar to a church potluck. It is designed to be a place were cult members can get to know one another, exchange thoughts, and ask for direction. Most of the time all goes well at the Bluehost forum unless you dare speak ill about the Bluehost cult. If one expresses any discontent with the Bluehost cult, he will be banned, yes excommunicated, from the Bluehost forum. Power, mad, altar boy areidmtm is a master at banning members, closing and deleting threads, if one dares to question the almighty authority of the Bluehost cult (a few example threads 1, 2, 3, 4, 5). Bluehost would love to influence one into thinking that there are no problems with their hosting service. Nothing could be further from reality. Like all cults, the cult of the Bluehost promotes some level of deception.

Do NOT be lured into the insanity of the Bluehost cult with the wild marketing promises of horrendous disk space and bandwidth allocations. What Bluehost doesn’t tell you is they will choke the life blood out of you with resource quotas. Do NOT believe the unsubstantiated uptime claims by Bluehost and wild unrealistic promises of fantastic technical support. All such tactics are deceptive by design. The church of the Bluehost cult is built on hype and partial truths. Bluehost thrives on, ” Hype, Hype, Hype.” If you are wise you will avoid the Bluehost cult like the plague.

Heaton Script Pimpin?

Posted by – January 29, 2008

In the header of Matt Heaton’s blog, who is the CEO and President of Bluehost, Hostmonster, and Fastdomain, a script was found. In the Bluehost forum Jasonj75 describes how he found the script in the header of Matt Heaton’s blog, while searching for a new web hosting company. He found it by running Firefox with a plugin called NoScript. (BTW: Turning javascipt off in a browser performs the same function as NoScript in this case.) Jasonj75 asks, “What kind of google shenanigans are going on here and why on Earth is the CEO of a reputable company taking part?” Below is the text he found in the CEO’s header.

levitra tagging levitra size levitra viagra comparision levitra and premature ejaculation levitra vardenafil hci tablets levitra usage levitra vs cialis vs viagra levitra vs cialis vardenafil how to take it vardenafil dosage purchase vardenafil diabeties viagra cialis levitra levitra type pills levitra clinical data levitra online ordersibutramine buy meridia meridia diet pill meridia side effects generic meridia meridia diet drug meridia effectiveness meridia weight loss does meridia work meridia discount meridia weight loss drug no prescription meridia meridia weight loss drug law suits in canada meridia diet pills meridia and wellbutrin meridia prescription

Look how Heaton’s blog appeared to Jasonj75. Jasonj75 discovered, when he clicked on any of the words above, it would lead him to webreakstuff.com. (a web design firm)

Basil came to a similar discovery, “Google cache does *not* lie.” In Basil’s findings when clicking on any of the key words directed him to wildproxy.net. WildProxy is a hosted proxy service.

Ok, I have something very weird going on here. In Opera I see this when clicking a key word. In Galeon, Firefox, Seamonkey, and Konqueror, I view something completely different clicking on the same key word all using Linux. On a Windows 2000 PC, I found this on Seamonkey. And once again I find something completely different with Firefox, Opera, and Flock clicking on the same key word. So what is going on here? What does anyone else see when clicking on the link? Please state your browser and operating system. What does anyone else come up with on brainware-india.com?

So why is Matt Heaton pimpin meds like Cialis, Viagra, and Levitra in the header of his blog?

So Matt Heaton what exactly do you have going on here?

Citation: Source code found in the header for webreakstuff, wildproxy, and brainware-india all in .txt format.